WRITER’S WORKSHOP: Our Boy

The journey had taken three years and forty-five minutes.  Almost three years ago to the day we began to travel this road.  The road had many twists and turns.  A few detours.  But here we were.  We pulled into the driveway.  I looked anxiously at this house, looking again at the windmill in the front yard.  And again, I was amazed at how this journey had led us here, to this place.

We walked up to the door and knocked.  After a few seconds, the door opened and we were greeted by the most beautiful sight I have ever seen.  There he was, my boy.  He was dressed in a little choo-choo train outfit with a red onesie and the cutest little hat I have ever seen.  His name, the name that we chose for our boy, was embroidered on the front, “Isaac.”  His foster mother held him out to me, and I held him for the first time since we had brought him back here 3 days ago.

We were allowed only a weekend visit after first meeting our son, to make sure we were a “good fit.”  We loved bringing him home for the first time.  It was the 4th of July weekend, and he experienced fireworks for the first time with us.  And since we have a great view of the fireworks from where we live, we had a host of friends and family over to celebrate both the birth of our country and the arrival of our son.   He was surrounded by love on that weekend.  And it just seemed wrong that we had to take him back to his foster home after just a few short days with us.

But we did.  When we left the house that day, I felt like I had left a piece of myself there as well.

Now, a few days later, we were back, reuniting with our son.   Holding Isaac Lee felt like a dream come true.  His adoption wasn’t final until almost 18 months later, but that day he truly became our son.  And while it took us 3 years of background checks, health exams, parenting classes and more paperwork than you can imagine, when I was holding my boy, it all seemed such a tiny price to pay for such an enormous gift.

It was a reunion I will never forget.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “WRITER’S WORKSHOP: Our Boy

  1. That sounds like one of the best reunions ever. My sister just adopted three little ones this last year and what you all have to go through to get those kids is intense. But God bless you for being the family that he needed!

    • We are thankful every day that He blessed us with this little boy! He was worth all the heartache we went through to get to that point. Thanks for stopping by:-)

  2. A reunion that was definitely meant to be – probably when you held him for the first time it was a reunion of sorts. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Wow, you are a truly incredible individual! You can’t possible know how great a gift you have given your boy. I know first hand, I’m an adopted child and my parents are the most amazing people on the planet. Everything good in my life I owe to them opening their hearts and their home to me. They gave me a chance at life I never otherwise would have had. Karma will surely smile on you!

  4. It’s a beautiful story told by a beautiful person. Thank you. You ARE amazing.

  5. I’m so glad you posted this! Wow – what a reunion!

  6. Goat

    Looks like a pretty happy kid. From what I’ve heard it seems like more planning and prep go into adding an adopted family member than a … uh … birthed? family member. But I suppose there have been enough horror stories (Oliver Twist!!) throughout the ages to make it waranted.

    Got me thinking that it really must be rough being a foster parent as well.

    • Yes he is pretty happy most of the time–at least when he is not fighting with his brothers:-) You are right, it seemed a lot tougher to go through the adoption than it did to get pregnant and give birth to the two we already had. But it was worth it of course. And, also, his foster mother and I have grown very close since we first met, and she is an amazing woman. I don’t know how she has loved all those children and let them go time and again, but she has. I am just thankful that someone who has known Isaac since he was only a few days old is still in his life (and mine!).

Leave a Reply

